Using KosmicTask

KosmicTask Help

Using KosmicTask

KosmicTask is an application for running, creating and sharing script powered tasks.

A task is simply an action performed at the request of a user. The actual operations carried out by each task are defined by a script that accepts a number of inputs. When a task is run the user is queried for the task inputs, the task script is executed and the results are returned to the user. The user may then save the results to disk, send them on to another application or discard them.

Accessing and Administering Tasks

KosmicTask uses sharing to control who has access to particular tasks. When a task is created it is initially accessible only to the local user and to other trusted users on the network. A trusted user is one who can authenticate by providing a valid OS X username and password. To make a task available for use by all networked users it must be shared.

KosmicTask operates in three different modes, selectable via the Task View control in the toolbar.

Task view
Public
Public mode permits all users on all connected machines to access and run the displayed tasks. This is the default Task View mode. Only tasks that have been explicitly shared by the local user will be displayed in public mode.
User
User mode permits access to all tasks on the machine including all those that have been shared and those that have not. When User mode is selected on a shared instance of KosmicTask the user will be asked to authenticate by supplying a valid OS X username and password.
Admin
In Admin mode the user can create, edit, delete, share and unshare tasks. Authentication is required when requesting Admin mode on a shared instance.

When entering User and Admin mode the user will be given the opportunity to save their username and password to the login keychain. This facility allows users to securely store their credentials and avoid having to re-authenticate on subsequent connection attempts.

Task View Mode Display

KosmicTask lists all available shared instances of the application in the left hand sidebar. The user can navigate to a particular instance by selecting either the instance name or a displayed group or task. A separate Task View mode is maintained for each instance, meaning that the user can simultaneously select say Admin mode on one instance and User mode on another. The active Task View mode for each shared instance is displayed in the sidebar as illustrated.

Task view modes